The Public Domain Treasures I Will Introduce You To

enid1Ten days ago I experienced one of the most amazing events of my life. Granted it was something that happens a million times a day to loads of people around the world, however regardless of that minor detail, it will always remain one of the most spectacular things I have ever witnessed.

I became a grandmother.

Part of me still can’t quite believe it, despite having plenty of time to prepare for the new role. What makes it even more special was the fact I was privileged enough to be one of my daughter’s birth partners.

It was absolutely amazing. I know… I am gushing…a lot.

I have spent a lot of time thinking about all the things I am going to introduce my grandson to, especially in regards to the public domain. I will tell him about all the material that belongs to the public, to us and to him. About the crooked thieving bastards who use it to make a profit. All about the global machinery (yes Disney I’m talking about you) who take ideas from the public domain and make millions from their blockbusters and merchandise. Then they ensure the copyright laws are changed in a way which protects their material from entering the public domain for quite a few lifetimes.

You get the gist of it.

I am excited and looking forward to introducing him to some of my favourite children’s books.

The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton

The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

The Water-Babies by Charles Kingsley

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne

Those are just a few for starters. I will also introduce him to the wealth of other riches the public domain has to offer. The art, the poems and the music. A whole world of treasures just waiting to be discovered.

There are so many things I can’t wait to introduce you to…one book, one song, one moment at a time.

Read and download Eight Stories of Dragons, Heidi, The Child that went with the Fairies, The Dragon Tamers, The Water-Babies, Olcott’s Book of Elves and Fairies, The Book of the Cat, Just Look at the Pretty Pictures, Flower Fables, The Jungle Book, Little Women or What Katy Did all here on the blog.

Read Disney;The Ali Baba of the Public Domain and Enclosing the Commons of the Mind,

Leave a Reply

