But Why Are They Belgian?

20170205_173556If you’ve read some of my previous recipe posts, you know that I love veggies. In soup, baked in a casserole, as a salad, roasted in the oven; I’ll eat nearly any kind.

20170211_162821I also love my recipe box. I enjoy looking online to find inspiration and new ideas, and I’ve had some wonderful results (like this bread you can make in a resealable bag), but if I really like the recipe I commit it to a card and add it to the collection.

I enjoy the recipes in the box because I have cards from my family and friends. Cards that are worn and spattered with oil and spices, cards featuring a myriad of handwriting, cards with recipes from magazines, local papers, and church newsletters, carefully cut and folded.

Some of the recipes I cherish most of all are the simplest. My Gramma C. (my mother’s mother) used to make a dish she called “Belgian Carrots”. It appeared on the table for any holiday meal, and plenty of non-holiday get-togethers. I like carrots anyhow, but these were extra delicious. When I learned how simple the recipe was, I was at once surprised an pleased, because I knew I could make it any time I wanted. Though I never did learn why they were Belgian.

Carrots are great year-round, and pretty darn cheap. Ditto onions, the other veggie which has a role in the dish. Here is the original recipe from my Gram:

Belgian Carrots

2 1/2 Cups cooked sliced carrots

2 TBL butter

2 tsp powdered sugar

1 medium onion, chopped fine

1 TBL chopped parsley

Salt and pepper to taste

Bake at 350 in a greased dish 15-20 mins

Simple enough!

I’ve developed a slightly different version over the years, which I present to you with a bit more detail:

Sark Carrots

2 Lbs raw carrots, sliced to 1/4″ (peeled or not, up to you)

1 medium (tennis-ball sized) onion, chopped fine

1 TBL butter

2 TBL olive oil

1 TBL dried, or 2 TBL fresh (minced) parsely

Salt and pepper

2 TBL honey

1. Preheat your oven to 375F

2. Grease the bottom of a 9″x13″x2″ glass baking dish with the butter

3. Mix all ingredients except the honey in a large bowl, then add to baking dish

4. Bake uncovered at 375 for 30 minutes.

5. Remove from oven, drizzle on honey and give it a mix, cover with foil, and return to oven for 20 more minutes.

6. Remove from oven and turn up one corner of the foil – careful, it’s steamy! Allow 10 minutes mostly covered before serving.

20170205_185650This dish reheats well, and it pairs with nearly anything. It’s light enough to accompany fish, but sturdy enough to work with beef or pork. It has it’s own flavor, but it’s not so complex that it overpowers any other goodies on your plate.

And yes, I realize that I am posting my ‘analogue’ recipes in digital format. Hey, if you like, you can write them on cards and put them in your recipe box! Maybe your carrots will be from Fristaden Christiania!

Leave a Reply

