Celestia: Explore your worlds.

This is not just any space software. It’s unlike any planetarium software you’ve seen.

I became enamored of this impressive piece of lovely so swiftly, I hijacked Havilah to help me review it. It’s that special.

Celestia doesn’t confine you to the surface of the Earth. You can travel throughout the solar system, to any of over 100,000 stars, or even beyond the galaxy. All movement in Celestia is seamless; the exponential zoom feature lets you explore space across a huge range of scales, from galaxy clusters down to spacecraft only a few meters across. A ‘point-and-goto’ interface makes it simple to navigate through the universe to the object you want to visit. Celestia is expandable. Celestia comes with a large catalog of stars, galaxies, planets, moons, asteroids, comets, and spacecraft. If that’s not enough, you can download dozens of easy to install add-ons with more objects. Celestia runs on Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X.

Gen: Easy to download, seamless and clean install.

While not unattractive, the interface has not been commercialized but don’t let the slim GUI put you off. Using the menu options, you can navigate anywhere.. and did I mention you can do this in real time?

If you fall in love with one of the rich images you see, Celestia allows you to capture the image or even make a movie of what you see. Best of all, there are add-ons. That’s right, add-ons. What kind of add-ons? I’m glad you asked.

Fresh from the motherlode, we have add-ons to travel different solar systems and further explore planrts. There are also fun fictional add-ons (like Star Wars or Babylon 5) that make this little gem a must-have for any space or science fiction geek.

I have no idea how it uninstalls because I’m keeping it.

Havilah: The planets look pretty. I’m now at Mars. I can find the moons… where did the other moon go? It was there a minute ago. There it is, I found it.

Gen: Best not to lose a moon.

Havilah: Let’s take a look at Saturn, It has that octagonal storm going on there… Because I was so close to Mars when I clicked Saturn, I ended up with a big grey screen because my nose what was right on the much bigger Saturn.

Gen: Zoom out! Zoom out!

Havilah: Let’s see what happens when we download… we obviously must download Star Wars. I must have Millennium Falcon but I must download Tatooine Endor and Death Star first… Remember I’m the one who has the model of the Millennium Falcon  sitting on my shelf…

Gen: To install add-ons. see the Motherlode’s Add-on Installation and A (not so) Brief Introduction to Celestia Addons 

One thought on “Celestia: Explore your worlds.

Leave a Reply

