Mom’s Favorite Cookies: Macadamia Nut and White Chocolate Chip Cookies

My family always bakes a ton of cookies for the Thanksgiving – Christmas holiday season. We have literally hundreds of cookie recipes in cookie cookbooks, magazines, homemade notebooks, and on cards. Every holiday season, we (mostly me although I occasionally draft my Niece and Nephew) make some of the favorite cookie recipes and try a couple of new recipes.

This Macadamia Nut and White Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe is one of my new finds. I had been specifically looking for a cookie recipe with Macadamia Nuts when I found this recipe. I made it for the first time this last Christmas.

My family is about evenly divided when it comes to nuts in cookies. Some like all nuts, some only like certain nuts, some don’t like any nuts. There are a few favorite nut cookie recipes that I try to bake every year.  Despite baking cookies with nuts in them, I fall in the hate all nuts category (which makes it kind of funny when I have to badger various family members to try out new cookies and describe them to me). But my Mom loved pretty much all nuts.

There has been a lot of upheaval in my family in the last few years. First my Nephew had a very serious sports injury, then his father, my BiL, had a stroke. Then I was in the hospital for a couple of years. Then Dad had open heart surgery followed by a stroke and a quick illness that cost him his life three years ago. Anyways, with all the upheavals, and since my family pretty much camps out in the hospital room whenever someone is in the hospital, my family was eating out much more than ever before just to save time. Right after Dad died, a new restaurant opened near by and Mom and Aunt E. discovered they really liked the food. After I was able to drive, and as Mom’s health started to deteriorate, I would drive through several times a week. One day, I bought some of their Macadamia Nut cookies and Mom discovered a new favorite nut cookie. Even when I drove through somewhere else for food, I still had to stop and get some Macadamia Nut cookies for Mom and Aunt E.

I had never used Macadamia Nuts before, but since Mom loved them so much I started looking for recipes. I found a few that looked promising but this recipe turned out to be the best of the bunch for us.

Mom’s Favorite Macadamia Nut and White Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup packed brown sugar
½ cup granulated sugar (evened off)
½ cup butter or margarine, softened
½ cup shortening (evened off)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract or flavoring
1 egg
2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour (heaping but not too much)
1 teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
6 – 9 ounces (1 – 1 ½ cups) white chocolate baking chips
1 small jar (about 3 ½ ounces) Macadamia Nuts, coarsely chopped

1). Preheat oven to 350°F.
2). In a small bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
3). In a large bowl, beat both sugars, butter, shortening, vanilla, and egg until light and fluffy.

4). Gradually add and beat in flour mixture. Dough will be stiff.

5). Stir in white chocolate chips and Macadamia Nuts. You will probably have to finish stirring by hand with a large spoon.

6). Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet, about 2 inches apart.

7). Bake 10 – 12 minutes or until light golden brown.
8). Let cookies cool 1 – 2 minutes on cookie sheets before removing.

9). Let cookie sheets cool down until touchable before reusing.
10). Recipe will make about 2 ½ dozen cookies. I always make a double batch.
11). Cookies can be stored in an airtight plastic container or tin for up to two weeks. You can also freeze them for up to two months in a freezer. Let cookies thaw to room temperature before eating.

I had never used Macadamia Nuts before this recipe and I quickly discovered that Macadamia Nuts are troublesome to chop up since they are little round nut balls. I chop up just a few at a time so I don’t end up with some big chunks and a lot of fine nuts. I also always bake a double batch. The dough is stiff and heavy and too much for my handheld mixer so I always stir in the white chocolate chips and Macadamia Nuts by hand with a big wooden spoon. This time around, I set aside some dough with only the white chocolate chips, and no nuts, for me to try (remember, I absolutely hate nuts). I liked the white chocolate chip only version but it is very sweet. This is my newest cookie recipe but Mom and Aunt E. and Niece absolutely love them so this recipe is now one of the family favorites. And it was Mom’s absolute favorite Macadamia Nut cookie recipe.

This is a picture of my Mom on her wedding day in 1951. I think she looks just lovely in her white wedding dress in front of the dark ornate altar. She looks so very happy. This is one of my favorite pictures of Mom.
You can check out some of my Mom’s other favorite cookie recipes by clicking on the links:

2 thoughts on “Mom’s Favorite Cookies: Macadamia Nut and White Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Your mother looks gorgeous in her dress on her big day and the cookies look amazing. Will try the recipe. xx Rita

Leave a Reply

