The Ultimate Emergency Car Kit

Extreme weather can be hard on your vehicle, so I’m posting this as a reminder. You and your family depend on your car, so I hope this helps you be more prepared.

Check the tread on your tires and replace them if they are too worn. Make sure tires are not over or under-inflated. When’s the last time you had the oil changed? Don’t forget to replace the oil filter. Check your fluids, including coolant. In short, if you haven’t had a tune up in a few years, please have it done now. Also, it may be a good idea to keep a “go phone” (inexpensive pay-as-you-go phone) or mobile in the glove compartment, already charged, to be used only for emergencies. Even old cell phones can still call 911 or 999 so please keep one charged and ready for use.

Always, and I do mean always, have an emergency car kit and an emergency medical kit in your car. Courtesy of Prepping for SHTF, I’m reposting “The Ultimate Emergency Car Kit” below. (Please go check out their site, it’s terrrific.)

1. Craftsman 154 pc Mechanics Tool Set # 35154
2. Coleman Cable 08662 25-Feet Heavy-Duty Booster Cables, 4-Gauge
3. Viair 00073 70P Heavy Duty Portable Compressor
4. Spare Tire
5. Clore JNC660 β€˜Jump-N-Carry’ 1,700 Peak Amp 12-Volt Jump Starter
6. Siphon Pump
7. Pry Bar
8. Tow Strap
9. Tire Plug Kit
10. Nato Jerry Gas Can
11. Sleeping Bag
12. Heavy Duty Water Container
13. BK2 Campanion Fixed Blade Knife
14. The 2013 Road Atlas (Rand McNally Road Atlas: United States/Canada/Mexico)
15. Auto Repair For Dummies
16. BaoFeng UV-5R 136-174/400-480 MHz Dual-Band DTMF CTCSS DCS FM Ham Two Way Radio
17. Kelly Kettle Camp Stove
18. Gerber Folding Shovel
19. Medical Kit
20. Toilet Tissue Single Roll
21. Hatchet with Leather Sheath
22. Mountain House Just In Case Food
23. UltraFire 1000 Lumens LED Flashlight
24. 12Γ—16-Foot 5-Mil Tarp
25. Windmill Delta Stormproof Lighter
26. Batteries
27. Black 550LB Military Nylon Paracord Rope 100 Feet

I always carry water in my car. I cycle it out every season to keep it fresh. I also have three bandanas (two grey, one in safety orange), a hand-crank flash light, flares, a white rag (universal symbol of distress for broken down cars to put on the antenna), a can of Fix-a-Flat, a list of contacts (people, places, numbers), a lighter and a few granola bars.

Everyone, please feel free to add any items you like to keep in your car for emergencies below in the comments so we can all benefit by sharing wisdom.

Play safer, work smarter, stay happy and be well.
Gen

189 thoughts on “The Ultimate Emergency Car Kit

  1. “And yeah some of us believed him at first but not anymore.”

    What happened that you didn't believe him anymore, Judah?

  2. Good cos fighting on a blog is exhausting. I keep having to hit refresh to look for comments. JUDAH

  3. We stopped believing him because he didn't make sense anymore which is why we all came over here in the first place to see what was really going on for ourselves. JUDAH

  4. Good cos fighting on a blog is exhausting. I keep having to hit refresh to look for comments. JUDAH

    Have you noticed nobody's fighting with you here, Judah? I think you're just feeling upset because you're worried we think you're associated with Bryant. You made it clear you're not. you even put your paws up, we know you're all about the love.

    The Big Bad Wolf

  5. Okay good cos srsly this constant refresh thing is RLY exhausting and I don't want anybody to get the wrong idea about me and my friends, it gets my back up. JUDAH

  6. Judah, did you and your friends believe what Carroll Bryant had to say until you came over here to this blog? Is that what you're trying to tell us?

  7. Judah's saying what I said before. We believed him until his crazy got so crazy it tapped out. We came over here and now we don't believe anything he says anymore.
    Little Monster

  8. Okay Little Monster, I'm just trying to follow this plot and get it right. None of you believe him anymore because you all came here to read this blog for yourselves. Got it. Paws up for The Little Monster Group. —> ^_^

  9. Okay gen I just get upset cos it's not like we didn't change our minds and try to do the right thing. We all came here to support you because we think you're amazing. None of my friends want ANYTHING to do to him after what he;s done to you and when we saw all your posts about his hate blogs and his comments calling people names and being racist we freaked out. We think he's awful and we're all glad you reported everything bad he ever did. He's a jerk who likes to threaten and bully people and NONE OF US support that. We all support YOU now and we love you and this blog and we want to do stuff here now. JUDAH

  10. Little Monster, PokerFace, Judah, Alejandro and the rest of your group: I want you to read this very carefully and listen to me, all right?

    You lot must be HUGE Lady GaGa fans! I like her, too, so I think that's awesome by the way. πŸ™‚ You probably already have both of these, but here's my fave cover of Bad Romance https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2EJai-3k2w and this mix of LGG and Metallica is awesome https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjzF0Zf8oSU

    All of you, each and every one of you, you are all welcome here. No strings. No catches. You can like anybody else you want to like, even if they don't like me or I don't like them. We can be friends and learn and share things without having to like all the same people, places, and things. In fact, it can be even better if we like different things because sometimes we can learn more from each other that way.

    I'm sorry that all of you are so upset by your bad experiences with Carroll Bryant's blog. If it upsets you this much, I would recommend not going there anymore. Simply choose not to give people who don't deserve you any of your time. Put all of those bad experiences in the past and spend time being happy and doing fun things. You can come here any time you like, all right?

    You sound a bit younger than the crowd I usually hang out with, which is totally no big deal because I like to hear from all kinds of people about what's on their minds. You fit in just fine here, I only ask that you be mindful of others when posting and try not to take offense when none's intended.

    Now I want to see some paws from your group go up so I know all's well with us and we're in it together. I'll go first. This paw is UP. How about you? πŸ™‚

  11. I'm sorry things got out of hand, Gen, So not what I wanted. But if you say it's all fixed now I believe you and we can all have a fresh start here. Me and my friends are probably younger than you and your friends but I really look up to you and like this blog a lot. We've been watching the old movies you posted on the archive and we're putting music to them and making videos and stuff on YT. I don't want people to know who we are (I don't to be stalked by the crazy person who stalks your blog) but I';ll email you the links so you can see them. I really, really hope you like our videos. You said on the archive that you make the videos you upload there public domain so people like me can create stuff and I want you to see what we're doing with the videos you gave us. Paw paw paw πŸ™‚
    Little Monster

  12. Little Monster,

    You and your friends just made me so very happy today.

    This is exactly why I donated all the materials as public domain, so people just like you could be inspired and use them to create their own art.

    I'm so impressed with you. All of you. Creation and self-expression is an incredible thing. It's a gift that keeps growing and giving.

    Thank you all so very much for letting me know this. of course I want to see your videos. Please email them (or the links if they're online) and put VIDEOS FOR GEN FROM (and your name goes here) in the subject header so it really stands out and I read your emails first.

    If you keep creating I promise that we'll keep uploading videos to the Internet Archive an YouTube for you to choose from with the hope of inspiring you. Do we have a deal?

  13. Gen I love you so much, thanks for everything. You will TOTALLY have email, k? I'm gonna do a special video just for you using the best LaGa song ever. Wait til you see it. πŸ™‚
    Little Monster

  14. Just want you to know my mom's like in her forties and she likes this blog too but I try not to let that ruin it for me. πŸ™‚
    PokerFace

  15. Just want you to know my mom's like in her forties and she likes this blog too but I try not to let that ruin it for me. πŸ™‚
    PokerFace

    My sixteen year old loves this blog but I don't let that ruin it for me, either. πŸ™‚

  16. Late to the party I see but this comments section was worth reading for so many reasons. Why do I feel like calling my dad now? LOL
    The Woodsman

  17. Don't laugh too hard. I just called my mom and left a message for her to have her car tuned up.
    xx Rita

  18. Good reminder about safe practices, thanks.
    Great tips throughout the comments, nice job.
    Little Monsters Group made me cry. I'm a mom. What can I say?
    I never know what I'll find here but it's always worth it.

  19. This is still seriously the coolest thing that's ever happened on a blog anywhere ever.

    Little Monster πŸ™‚

  20. Good grief! I guess I was the only one in bed. I read all the comments with one eye open and one cup of coffee down. I'm overwhelemed with the love, readership, paws and all. Very happy right now and much appreciative. I lay awake tossing till at least three am, wondering how I can do better. I call it bloggy brain. The blog is on my mind all the time, hence the bloggy brain. I am going to have to get something to make me sleep. Anyway, love all of our readers from the bottom to the top. You have no idea how special it is to work with the people I work with. We are family. They are a hoot and I spend more time with them than anyone else. Thank you God. I read through ALL the comments and got teary eyed. Thank you to everyone for taking the time to read our articles. Yes, we most certainly have to pickle Mr.D's brain. We all work hard and the kudos are just the icing on the cuppycakes. As for what's in my car. Okay, my friends are not going to be happy, but here goes. I do have AAA, however, not much else. I remember jumper cables, left over tranny oil, have a leak. Left over oil, have a leak there too. I had a gallon of water, don't know what happened to it. I think I have a spare, haven't taken a look at it in years. Have nothing to get the nuts off anyway. (Oh for goodness sake I didn't mean it that way.) Um, glove box is small so insurance card, registration. Center console, pens, CD covers and junk. Oh, kleenex box. πŸ™‚ Paws up. All three cats have their paws up too.

  21. WonderWife and I put together this same kit for our car 4 years ago. Plus 2 gallons of water, transmission fluid, 2 quarts of oil, a lifehammer, a tow strap, an ell of rope, bungee cords, a duffel bag with a change of clothing plus shoes for each of us, 2 towels, 2 rolls of paper towels, two rolls of TP, candles, snacks, one of those flashlights that you can shake (looks like you're doing something NAUGHTY when you charge it), an old field telephone (windup verison) that still works, plus of course the GPS. LOVE it that so many people are finding the blog and commenting.

  22. Gen X, I don't know how you do it. WonderWife and I have about 2/3rds of the things that you listed here, but we've also got a tent. Road hazard kit, check. Extra money, check. BIG honking 1st aid kit, check (complete with surgical tools and needles/linen thread/plastic thread. No baseball bat but we do have a hickory handle that detaches from the axe. Knives (plural) check – Leatherman and Sheffield multitools as well.

    Already highlighted and printed everything else that you have, and I will be including a bottle of rubbing alcohol along with a camp stove. THANK you! We thought we were pretty good preppers since we camp a lot, but this is magnificent.

Leave a Reply

