We need to talk.

You know who you are. Yes, it’s going to be one of those conversations. Why? Because we need to talk.

Unless your parents paid me cash, there’s popcorn and pizza on the coffee table and The Lion King is showing on the screen in front of us, I am not your babysitter. I do not want to be your babysitter. I should not have to babysit capable adults. I will not babysit you. It’s demeaning. It’s the equivalent of bees in my blue jeans. It makes me cranky.

Anybody got a problem with that?

If you got a problem with that then go fix it. Or better still, just go. Don’t make your problems my problems, or else I’m going to fix it because that’s what you do with problems – you fix them. I’ll assume we’re all in agreement and we can move along now.

I wanted an open blog. I didn’t want to moderate comments. I wanted to allow anonymous commenting. I wanted people to be able to do that without parting with their personal information. I dislike censorship. This is me. This what I believe. This is how I live my life. This is my value system in action, it doesn’t change to suit you and it won’t change when it’s convenient for me. This is not situational ethics. This is life.

I am responsible for what I do and say. That is what I own. I am not responsible for the words and actions of others. You are responsible for what you do and say. Whether you use your real name, an alias or anonymous, you own it. These are basic concepts so I’ll assume I haven’t lost anyone yet.

When you make me moderate you it pisses me the fuck off.

Go back and read that again. No, really, read it again. Do it. Right now. I’ll wait. Do I sound angry? That’s because I am. You’re fucking it up for everybody, including me, and I don’t appreciate it. You’re adults. Behave like it. Don’t argue, no bullshit, I’m serious. In fact, I’m so completely mother fucking serious that if you can’t get your shit together – and I mean thisfuckingfast – that I will permanently cut off all comments rather than babysit your asses.

Any questions? I’m not feeling open to questions right now so let’s just say there are no questions and move on.

I will say this once and only once: do not doc drop on this blog. Ever. I don’t care if it’s fucking Hitler, you don’t even come close to an actual doc drop on this blog. You got me? This is me angry. Like it? Me either. I’ll open comments when I’m damn good and ready, and you better act right when I do.

And to everyone else? This does not apply to you so you can just skip it.

13 thoughts on “We need to talk.

  1. Well, good morning to you. I see I missed all the excitement. (I don't mind.) Cheers for laying down law. You're quite attractive when you're angry, anyone ever tell you that? :)))

  2. We finally have someone willing to work with us and you're ruining it! You don't know how bad it's been. STGRB has silenced so many voices and now you're taking away our last safe place to be? I won't let it happen without a fight. I just won't. Stop it and I mean it. This blog has become another home for me and a lot of people and I won't let you ruin it. – Cat lover

  3. My Fav Cat Lover: Don't worry honey, they just got very angry and a little out of control. I don't think it will happen again. Doc-dropping makes Gen crazy and she had to set down the rules. This blog is still safe for you and everyone else. This blog is very new and we are trying to keep it a safer place.

  4. I want you to know how much I admire and respect you for deleting the comments and freezing all activity, especially considering that he's lying about you doxxing Douthit and he threatened to dox your sister. You're a good person and you did the right thing.

  5. “Unless your parents paid me cash, there's popcorn and pizza on the coffee table and The Lion King is showing on the screen in front of us, I am not your babysitter.”

    I'm stealing this line for the next time my husband's football friends invade the house.

  6. I will not babysit you. It's demeaning. It's the equivalent of bees in my blue jeans. It makes me cranky.

    Shoot me, this is hilarious.

Leave a Reply

