We can’t handle criticism.

By Gen Xavier

I’ve gotten a lot of mail asking what’s on my mind. Here’s what’s on my mind.

We live in a surreal culture, bathed in films and television, and baptized with pulp fiction. Online, video games, fashion and the pursuit of whatever’s deemed attractive seem to be the never-ending quest and the more powerless we feel in our actual lives the stronger the quest becomes.

It’s denial at its finest and most widespread and I have to wonder if this is the effect of the nineteen seventies’ “I me my” movement, fruits now manifest, that dictate the awkward and nonsensical dances we’re performing now. A quick look at the headlines  on any given day show very little solidarity or group identity. It’s been replaced with group mentality. A joke of individuals reflexing in tandem, we live in the The Cult of Self, and it shows.

Selfish, entitled, spoiled and shallow. That’s what it is. Don’t like that? Neither do I. Never did. Doesn’t make it any less true. We substitute opinions for facts. We feast on ideology instead of aiming for something functional. We’d rather have rhetoric than reality. And it’s all about us. Or shall I say you, the individual. Because no one’s ever wrong, everything’s okay, and it’s sure as hell not our fault. We’re not responsible. We’re not to blame for all the things we bitch about. We just exist to bitch about them.

We’ve become a culture of reacting children who can’t even take the criticism required in life to actually grow  because we’re so spoiled we can’t stand not being first, best or number one. I look to Adam Curtis for some kind of explanation. The Century of Self, shows the path behind me. Mind you, I’m not looking for someone to blame and I already have a pretty good idea of what’s wrong. I’m wondering how the hell it got this way, and this four part series lays out some good arguments as road map when I look over my shoulder.

Keep your retail therapy. Keep your flash and trash. You can keep your trending crap. I won’t subscribe to it, and watched it ebb and flow from life as I know it with a skeptical eye. I don’t assume it’s all about me; I’m very aware I live in a populated world.  But each time someone has that inevitable breakdown, the realization that society’s shell is crumbling and the slow, strange panic that inevitably ensues, guess where I point them?

Watch the documentary and welcome to the world the rest of us live in. We’re a minority, sure, but we’ll take the worst reality you can dish out over the best illusion you got. Because everything you know really is a lie. The world doesn’t revolve around you. You’re just a tiny piece of it. Does that make you feel powerless?  Insignificant? Are you afraid? What happened to all the self-centric cheerleaders preaching the Cult of You that used to make you feel so much better as you navigated the stray days of the week?

Can’t you hear them anymore?

Good.

One thought on “We can’t handle criticism.

  1. “And it's all about us. Or shall I say you, the individual. Because no one's ever wrong, everything's okay, and it's sure as hell not our fault. We're not responsible. We're not to blame for all the things we bitch about. We just exist to bitch about them.

    We've become a culture of reacting children who can't even take the criticism required in life to actually grow because we're so spoiled we can't stand not being first, best or number one.”

    Saw this tweet out today. This bit is spot on brilliant! This fairly describes the majority of the internet and the egos on it. There seems to be an absence of self and a focus on something much bigger on this blog – Life – and I like it. It will take me weeks to read all the things you cover here. Following you now!

Leave a Reply

